GetSimple Support Forum

Full Version: News Manager (updated)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
News Manager version 3.2.2
  • Fixes possible issues with some I18N-based multilanguage setups (@TeeJay)
Download

Not available in Extend for now - I suppose most sites using NM are not affected and I don't want to bother with too frequent plugin updates.
No need to upgrade from 3.2.1 if you are not having issues.
Next version (3.2.3 or 3.3) will include this fix.
(I had forgot to comment this...)

There's a compatibility issue with the Custom Title plugin (reported by user user in the Russian forum): the <title> tag for single post pages does not contain the post title.

A workaround for this issue is using template tag nm_post_title: replace the code for the <title> tag in your template by something like this:

Code:
<title>
   <?php if (function_exists('get_custom_title_tag'))
   { nm_post_title('', ' - '); echo get_custom_title_tag(); }
   else { get_page_clean_title(); }  ?>
</title>
Just a short question: How to define differnt templates for news overview and the posts?
you have classes nm_post and nm_post_single .. nm_post is used in overview and single posts, nm_post_single is used only in single posts so you can rewrite some rules of nm_post with nm_post_single
Hmm.. I'm not sure if that helps, I have a Slideshow in my gs-template which I want to use above the overview but not above the single posts. I don't know, if it is clear what I mean? Big Grin Thanks for your quick reply!
ah OK,

so.. I would create a template specifically for blog/newsmanager to separate it from all other pages, then, on top where you want your slideshow, use this condition:

if(!nm_is_single()) {slideshow();}
That works! Thanks a lot, morvy! Smile

I just changed it to nm_if_main , so that I don't have the slideshow above the sites where I filter by tag.
You can also use nm_is_home() if you just want it in the first main news page and not for page 2, page 3, etc.
BTW you can select different templates with custom setting templateFile, for example:
Code:
templateFile temp-news.php
single templateFile temp-post.php
would use template temp-news.php for all news pages, except for full/single posts, where temp-post.php would be used.

[edit] If you do as morvy says and select the template in the news page, the first line is not necessary.
Anyway I also prefer using the default template and insert an if... conditional.
Thank you guys, I really apreciate your work and effort! Smile
Any plans to include star/tumbs etc ratings for the news/posts ?
Hi Carlos,
I was wondering if on the sidebar nm_tag_list function, is there a way to ad a class "active" to the tag which is currently used to display the posts? In this way, the tag list could be even used as a navigation bar.
On the reverse nm_list_tag you use a condition to "weight" the tag to change its appearance into the cloud, and I was wondering if the same cannot be done for the list too, but with the condition "if the post/s displayed belong to that speciific tag..."
Thanks a lot as always
Gianpaolo
(2015-07-27, 18:24:18)GPB61 Wrote: [ -> ]I was wondering if on the sidebar nm_tag_list function, is there a way to ad a class "active" to the tag which is currently used to display the posts? In this way, the tag list could be even used as a navigation bar.
On the reverse nm_list_tag you use a condition to "weight" the tag to change its appearance into the cloud, and I was wondering if the same cannot be done for the list too, but with the condition "if the post/s displayed belong to that speciific tag..."
Thanks a lot as always
Gianpaolo

I'll add support for that.

In the meantime, you can make a copy, in your theme's functions.php file, of function nm_tag_list() (you can find it at news_manager/inc/sidebar.php) with a different name (that you would use in your template) with this change:

Replace
Code:
echo '  <li><a href="',$url,'">',htmlspecialchars($tag),'</a></li>',PHP_EOL;
by:
Code:
echo '  <li',(nm_is_tag($tag) ? ' class="active"' : ''),'><a href="',$url,'">',htmlspecialchars($tag),'</a></li>',PHP_EOL;
(2015-07-16, 01:38:19)Riianna Wrote: [ -> ]Any plans to include star/tumbs etc ratings for the news/posts ?

No plans for that, sorry.

If you know of any solution (plugin, external script or whatever...) that can do it for static or nomal GS pages, let me know and I'll see if it can be integrated.
(2015-07-30, 00:19:26)Carlos Wrote: [ -> ]Replace

Code:
echo '  <li><a href="',$url,'">',htmlspecialchars($tag),'</a></li>',PHP_EOL;
by:

Code:
echo '  <li',(nm_is_tag($tag) ? ' class="active"' : ''),'><a href="',$url,'">',htmlspecialchars($tag),'</a></li>',PHP_EOL;


Thank you very much, it works as intended!
GP
I would like to have multiple instances of "News Manager Updated" on my web site. If it's possible, how would I do it?
(2015-08-14, 18:46:34)joyofweaving.com Wrote: [ -> ]I would like to have multiple instances of "News Manager Updated" on my web site. If it's possible, how would I do it?

Right now it's not possible, unless you emulate them with tags, or make clones of the plugin (renaming variables, constants, functions...)

Support for multiple instances is in the roadmap (#32). I'll probably start working on this feature soon.
Curious what purpose for multiple installs?
It's just an overkill solution to simulate having categories without misusing tags.
I think I should just sit for a day or two and write it myself when I see how requested feature it is, well, maybe for Christmas Big Grin
I still don't get it, can you not just use hierarchies as categories?
Parent child relatioships?
Only in the GS pages, not in the NM pages. NM posts don't even have the "parent" option as far as I remember.
Subheadings


Hi Carlos et al,
is there any way to add custom fields to posts (similar to the I18N Custom Fields plugin for Pages)? I would very much like to use subheadings (not excerpts) on my blog, so I was wondering if that's feasible somehow.

Cheers,
S.
(2015-08-19, 07:53:58)singha-cz Wrote: [ -> ]Subheadings

Hi Carlos et al,
is there any way to add custom fields to posts (similar to the I18N Custom Fields plugin for Pages)? I would very much like to use subheadings (not excerpts) on my blog, so I was wondering if that's feasible somehow.

Currently there's no way, sorry. (I'll add this to the to-do list)

At this moment the only alternative to automatic excerpts is using custom setting more 1 to enable rich excerpts (post content cut off by <hr> tag, if found)

Of course, another possibility is using I18N Special Pages instead of NM.
Where can I edit the scheme of news Manager? I mean, where can I edit structure of my posts etc?