GetSimple Support Forum
Insert flash file - Printable Version

+- GetSimple Support Forum (http://get-simple.info/forums)
+-- Forum: GetSimple (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: General Questions and Problems (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+--- Thread: Insert flash file (/showthread.php?tid=297)



Insert flash file - cumbe - 2010-01-13

Hello!!.

I want to insert a flash file in a page, but only in one page.
if I put the code to insert a flash in the template file, I get on every page.
How must i to do it?

Thanks and regards.


Insert flash file - Rich - 2010-01-13

Duplicate your template.php and rename your copy to template_flash.php and insert your flash thing.
Now in edit page option select your template_flash.php under Template for the page you want have the flash.
And it will show only on the one page.


Insert flash file - cumbe - 2010-01-14

Thanks Rich.
Now, the page works ok... Smile


Insert flash file - two53475 - 2010-05-27

hi, i'm having a problem actually getting my flash applications to point files required for them to function,i need to point my flash object to a xml settings file and to some audio files.

my theme is in
getsimple/themes/mytheme/
and my files are in
getsimple/themes/mytheme/flashfiles/

i can't seem to point my flash object to those files.
my flash object takes this information in the form of variables declared and assigned in a swfobject javascript declaration

example:

flashvars.pathToFiles = "flashfiles/";
flashvars.settingsPath = "xml/settings.xml";
flashvars.xmlPath = "xml/mp3_player.xml";

xml folder is located within flash files folder

this object does work in regular html page but not in my getsimple template.

any suggestions?

thanks a lot! Smile


Insert flash file - Zegnåt - 2010-05-27

When a theme file is read your browser is not actually in the theme folder. So if you write "flashfiles/" but your browser is at the homepage http://example.ms/ it is going to check the folder http://example.ms/flashfiles/ and not your theme folder.

You will have to link to the folder in the same way as you link to a stylesheet and everything else, by telling it to look in the theme folder:
Code:
flashvars.pathToFiles = "<?php get_theme_url(); ?>/flashfiles/";



Insert flash file - two53475 - 2010-05-28

Zegnåt Wrote:When a theme file is read your browser is not actually in the theme folder. So if you write "flashfiles/" but your browser is at the homepage http://example.ms/ it is going to check the folder http://example.ms/flashfiles/ and not your theme folder.

You will have to link to the folder in the same way as you link to a stylesheet and everything else, by telling it to look in the theme folder:
Code:
flashvars.pathToFiles = "<?php get_theme_url(); ?>/flashfiles/";

-----------
Thanks, i'll give it a try when i get back to my pc


Insert flash file - two53475 - 2010-05-28

thanks!! i got it to work! actually ended up just moving my flash in to the root and out of the theme folder,but it only made sense after your explanation, thanks a lot!


Insert flash file - shumphreys - 2011-06-21

Hi,

I am having problems with a flash file - it refuses to play! The file, when invoked plays OK: www.cambridgetouringtheatre.co.uk/data/uploads/CTT_2010.swf.

The code to call this used to be:
<p class="showreel">
<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" width="380" height="264" id="CTT_2010" align="middle">
<param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
<param name="movie" value="<?php get_site_url(); ?>data/uploads/CTT_2010.swf" /><param name="quality" value="high" /><param name="autoPlay" value="false" /><param name="bgcolor" value="#ffffff" /><embed src="<?php get_site_url(); ?>data/uploads/CTT_2010.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="380" height="264" name="<?php get_site_url(); ?>/data/uploads/CTT_2010" align="middle" autoPlay="false" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
</object>
</p>

I have had to remove this from the main website as per client instructions. It was embedded into a component called from various templates in the site, I have tried it from the page itself - same result.

Any ideas about what to look into? I have tried this with IE, FF and Chrome, same result. Flash is clearly working in the browsers as the call to the SWF file works, but not when embedded in a GETSimple XML file ...?

Many thanks


Insert flash file - n00dles101 - 2011-06-21

Does it play when you replace the <?php get_site_url(); ?> calls and just put in the full URL for the SWF file?

There are also a couple of typos:

<?php get_site_url(); ?> should be follwoed by a "/"

Code:
<p class="showreel">
<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" width="380" height="264" id="CTT_2010" align="middle">
<param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
<param name="movie" value="<?php get_site_url(); ?>/data/uploads/CTT_2010.swf" /><param name="quality" value="high" /><param name="autoPlay" value="false" /><param name="bgcolor" value="#ffffff" /><embed src="<?php get_site_url(); ?>/data/uploads/CTT_2010.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="380" height="264" name="<?php get_site_url(); ?>/data/uploads/CTT_2010.swf" align="middle" autoPlay="false" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
</object>
</p>



Insert flash file - shumphreys - 2011-06-21

Thanks, that seems to ahve fixed it ... I went back to the orignal HTML file generated by FLASH, chanegd the path appropriately and it is now playing .... it's usually something simple :0

Thanks for the pointer.