GetSimple Support Forum
Torn off update notice... - Printable Version

+- GetSimple Support Forum (http://get-simple.info/forums)
+-- Forum: GetSimple (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: General Questions and Problems (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+--- Thread: Torn off update notice... (/showthread.php?tid=3903)



Torn off update notice... - widecircle - 2012-11-20

Hi there!
When a new version of GS is available there is an updatenotice in the form of an exclamation mark on a yellow background. Does anyone know how to turn off this functionality? I don't want to update finished projects for my clients since there might be problems with plugins etc.
But my clients freak out thinking something is seriously wrong... Confused

Best, Niklas


RE: Torn off update notice... - shawn_a - 2012-11-21

No way to turn it off, you can probably install the custom css plugin and hide the css.

Of course you can edit the core files and remove this entirely.


RE: Torn off update notice... - widecircle - 2012-11-21

Thanks Shawn!
Where do I find it in the source code?
Do you know?

Niklas


RE: Torn off update notice... - islander - 2012-11-22

(2012-11-21, 07:36:57)widecircle Wrote: Thanks Shawn!
Where do I find it in the source code?
Do you know?

Niklas

In v3.1.2, if you goto "admin/template/header.php", at lines 43-57 you should see:
PHP Code:
    <script>
        
// check to see if core update is needed
        
jQuery(document).ready(function() { 
            <?
php $json get_api_details();    if ($json != '') { ?>
                var obj = jQuery.parseJSON('<?php echo $json?>');
                if(obj.status != 1) {
                    $('a.support').parent('li').append('<span class="warning">!</span>');
                    $('a.support').attr('href', 'health-check.php');
                }
            <?php  ?>
        });
    </script> 
change to...
PHP Code:
    <!--<script>
        
// check to see if core update is needed
        
jQuery(document).ready(function() { 
            <?
php $json get_api_details();    if ($json != '') { ?>
                var obj = jQuery.parseJSON('<?php echo $json?>');
                if(obj.status != 1) {
                    $('a.support').parent('li').append('<span class="warning">!</span>');
                    $('a.support').attr('href', 'health-check.php');
                }
            <?php  ?>
        });
    </script>--> 



RE: Torn off update notice... - shawn_a - 2012-11-22

header.php
PHP Code:
                if(verstatus != 1) {
                    $(
'a.support').parent('li').append('<span class="warning">!</span>');
                    $(
'a.support').attr('href''health-check.php');
                } 

Just comment that out or add your own variable or whatnot.


RE: Torn off update notice... - shawn_a - 2012-11-22

Or remove the whole // check to see if core update is needed
block as above.

hehe same time posted.