GetSimple Support Forum
Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Printable Version

+- GetSimple Support Forum (http://get-simple.info/forums)
+-- Forum: GetSimple (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Plugins (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) (/showthread.php?tid=5061)



Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Carlos - 2013-08-13

This simple plugin replaces all occurrences of a given string by the current Site URL (as defined in GS settings) in the content of pages, when editing or browsing them.

It can be used to migrate sites, so that you don't have to manually change every absolute URL (links, images...) you inserted in the old site.

Usage:

- unzip and upload fixsiteurl.php to your plugins folder and activate it in the Plugin Management page
- edit your site's gsconfig.php file and insert a line like this:
Code:
define('OLDSITEURL','http://localhost/oldsite/');
(don't forget to put the trailing slash)

Notes:

- It doesn't convert every page you have in the site - it just changes the URLs when you edit or view a page.
That is, pages that haven't been edited and saved after the site change will still have the old URLs (internally). However they will be converted in the public site anyway (unless the plugin is removed or disabled) so users will not notice this.

- it will not work properly if old and new sites use different permalink structures.

- it will not work at all if the new site is in a subfolder of the old site (e.g. if you move from www.example.com/ to www.example.com/subfolder/)

Download latest version from github: https://github.com/cnb/FixSiteURL-getsimplecms


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Thomas Helzle - 2013-08-13

Hey Carlos!

That sounds great - I'll give it a try right away!

Thank you!

Cheers,

Tom


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Thomas Helzle - 2013-08-13

Works like a charm!

Thank you so much, that was my final hurdle with GS.

Cheers,

Tom


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Carlos - 2013-08-14

Note that:
- it will not work properly if old and new sites use different permalink structures.
- it will not work at all if the new site is in a subfolder of the old site (e.g. if you move from www.example.com/ to www.example.com/subfolder/)


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Thomas Helzle - 2013-08-14

Ok, I keep an eye out for these, but usually it is either from localhost/subfolder to the web or from a subfolder on the web for testing to toplevel later on release with basically the same structures.

So far everything works smooth.

Cheers,

Tom


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - laptopacademy - 2016-11-20

hi, not sure how to use.

define('OLDSITEURL','http://localhost/oldsite/');

my old site url is the same as my new site url.
http://mydomain.com

what changed is the file path. went from
user/folder1/getsimple
to
user/folder2/getsimple


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Carlos - 2016-11-20

The site url includes the path, not only the domain.


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - laptopacademy - 2016-11-20

(2016-11-20, 07:45:23)Carlos Wrote: The site url includes the path, not only the domain.

like this?

Code:
define('http://mydomain.com','http://mydomain.com/oldfolder/');



RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Carlos - 2016-11-20

No, like this:
Code:
define('OLDSITEURL','http://mydomain.com/oldfolder/');

This creates a PHP constant named OLDSITEURL that contains the old site url (that will be replaced by the new one when viewing or editing a page)

You don't need to specify the new site url - it's stored in GS website settings.


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Oleg06 - 2016-11-20

I usually do so http://prntscr.com/d9ikgu


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Carlos - 2016-11-20

Of course you can search-replace with an editor like notepad++ , but this is the support thread for a plugin.


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Oleg06 - 2016-11-20

I'm sorry, Carlos, just people often ask this question, I decided to show them, ka can solve their problem. Smile


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - bobbiescap - 2016-12-05

(2016-11-20, 19:13:42)Oleg06 Wrote: I usually do so http://prntscr.com/d9ikgu

What software are you using to achieve that? I am using Debian Linux and maybe that could be done from the command line I guess. Cheers for the demo.


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Oleg06 - 2016-12-05

notepad++


RE: Fix Site URL (for moving/migrating sites) - Carlos - 2016-12-05

You could also use this simple script:
http://get-simple.info/forums/showthread.php?tid=5082