GetSimple Support Forum
Replacing the CKeditor - Printable Version

+- GetSimple Support Forum (http://get-simple.info/forums)
+-- Forum: GetSimple (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: General Questions and Problems (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+--- Thread: Replacing the CKeditor (/showthread.php?tid=6423)



Replacing the CKeditor - johnstray2001 - 2014-06-03

I'm wondering if it is possible to replace the built-in CKeditor with a different editor, and if possible, how do I do this (step-by-step instructions)?

Ultimately, I'd like to be able to do this from within a plugin that I will build for this purpose.

The editor I would like to use is:
http://bootpages.com/LiveEditor/default.htm

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

~john.


RE: Replacing the CKeditor - shawn_a - 2014-06-03

step by step for a programmer or laymen ?

not really either, but you could simply destroy the ckeditor instance and hook your own editor to the textarea however you please.


RE: Replacing the CKeditor - Timbow - 2014-06-03

Have you seen this plugin for TinyMCE?
http://get-simple.info/extend/plugin/tinymce/200/


RE: Replacing the CKeditor - johnstray2001 - 2014-06-03

shawn_a,
programmer. How would I go about destroying the CKeditor instance? JavaScript is not my strong point. What hooks are available to use to be able to pull in my own editor? Looking at edit.php, I saw "exec_action('edit-content');" but I couldn't get a plugin to hook there for some reason.

Timbow,
I'll look into that plugin and see how its done there. Should be able to get some idea from it.

Edit: Might have just figured it out. I was using add_filter() in my plugin. Instead I should have been using add_action(). Whoops!


RE: Replacing the CKeditor - shawn_a - 2014-06-03

I guess you could override the $HTMLEDITOR global to prevent ckeditor from even being output.
Then insert your own editor whereever you want, footer hook etc.

I forget how to destroy the cke instance but it should be easy to google.


RE: Replacing the CKeditor - datiswous - 2014-06-04

In drupal there's a project which makes it possible to integrate several editors. I find only Ckeditor (and source-view in it without buttons) restrictive. I would personally like to use Markitup as editor.