GetSimple Support Forum
Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - Printable Version

+- GetSimple Support Forum (http://get-simple.info/forums)
+-- Forum: GetSimple (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: General Questions and Problems (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+--- Thread: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller (/showthread.php?tid=7496)

Pages: 1 2


Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-20

Hi, I am trying to integrate the following into a theme for this CMS.

jquery-custom-content-scroller


However I cannot get it to initialize. (The JavaScript way of Initializing it.)

All the divs, and classes are created, and added to the page, but the actual functionality will not work?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Click here to download the plugin, to try to help me figure it out...


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

wasn't this answered for you on another forum for another CMS?
It will be the same way of initializing using GetSimple.


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 00:31:12)n00dles101 Wrote: wasn't this answered for you on another forum for another CMS?
It will be the same way of initializing using GetSimple.

Unfortunately....that doesn't actually work, as I need it to initialize via JS, not via the HTML way, also it needs to be the FULL page, not just the page's contents..... and the client I'm trying to make this for, requested a different CMS... (This one they like better.) 

When the HTML way is used it becomes impossible to use the scrolling features for things, such as links.

Ex. of Page Setup...
Code:
<body>
  <div class="wrapper">
     <div class="content">
        Place all the content here, which makes the page scrollable.......this includes...
         Header
         Content
         Footer
     </div>
  </div
</body>


Is there any way of doing this?


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

Code:
<script>
            (function($){
                $(window).load(function(){
                    $("body").mCustomScrollbar({
                        theme:"minimal-dark"
                    });
                });
            })(jQuery);
        </script>



RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 01:17:48)n00dles101 Wrote:
Code:
<script>
           (function($){
               $(window).load(function(){
                   $("body").mCustomScrollbar({
                       theme:"minimal-dark"
                   });
               });
           })(jQuery);
       </script>


I have tried that, and it makes the scrollbar initialize with the CSS of....
display: none;
Whenever I try to override it, the css reverts back to display:none;


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

Do you have the custom scroller CSS loaded?

I cant help with specifics of this jquery script.

I'd look at this video again, as it show you how to get this working.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niEG065e8Aw

I note that you have commented on this video with the same issue and you then got it working...


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 01:30:05)n00dles101 Wrote: Do you have the custom scroller CSS loaded?

I cant help with specifics of this jquery script.

I'd look at this video again, as it show you how to get this working.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niEG065e8Aw

I note that you have commented on this video with the same issue and you then got it working...

I have all the files loaded (Actually took the files direct from my head of a non-cms setup, and changed the src/href to match the new file structure)

I did comment that I had gotten it working, but that was in a non-cms env.... Maybe it has issues with PHP? Odd thought...but just thought about that.


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

do you have a URL we could look at?


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 01:38:24)n00dles101 Wrote: do you have a URL we could look at?

Let me see..... All is local currently... however I think I have a free host I can throw it on..... for a second at least.


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

cool , throw it up and I'll have a quick luck..


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 01:44:04)n00dles101 Wrote: cool , throw it up and I'll have a quick luck..

http://cmstesting.host22.com/

Yes this is a free host.... but still shows... (With very Basic, single page, layout)

And yes, I do have alerts in there still.... sorry...but they were for my purposes of getting proper test data.


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

you'll need to go into settings and change the base url to

cmstesting.host22.com

before it will work


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 03:01:20)n00dles101 Wrote: you'll need to go into settings and change the base url to

cmstesting.host22.com

before it will work

Updated, sorry forgot about that.


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - shawn_a - 2015-08-21

Neat script, me like


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

you'll need to fill those sections with something, there is nothing to scroll...


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - shawn_a - 2015-08-21

you stuck window.load inside your function
you should be calling your function after window.load
you have it backwards.

and if this uses jquery you need to use jquery ready

jQuery(document).ready(function () {
});


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 03:10:00)n00dles101 Wrote: you'll need to fill those sections with something, there is nothing to scroll...

All sections have 400px height.... I would assume that should make it work, saying it did when originally created outside the CMS?


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 03:13:11)shawn_a Wrote: you stuck window.load inside your function
you should be calling your function after window.load
you have it backwards.

and if this uses jquery you need to use jquery ready

jQuery(document).ready(function () {
});

I guess I'm misunderstanding? This does use jQuery. (Sorry, not completely confident in my jQuery skills.....)


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

also in main.css line 1 remove the overflow: hidden


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 03:23:47)n00dles101 Wrote: also in main.css line 1 remove the overflow: hidden

Completed, and you can see default scroll does have enough for scrolling, and should be replaced by the other bar, if it loads.


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

Here.... I set it up so that you can see the CMS vs HTML versions of the same files.

GS CMS Version (PHP)

Non-CMS version (HTML)


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

will you change the main.js back to the veriosn you have on the index.html version


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 04:23:39)n00dles101 Wrote: will you change the main.js back to the veriosn you have on the index.html version

Done.


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - n00dles101 - 2015-08-21

and one more thing, can you change the GS version to load all scripts and css in the order that they are in the index.html file.


RE: Trying to integrate jQuery content Scoller - korey.badgley - 2015-08-21

(2015-08-21, 04:31:03)n00dles101 Wrote: and one more thing, can you change the GS version to load all scripts and css in the order that they are in the index.html file.

Done