GetSimple Support Forum
get_grandparent ?! - Printable Version

+- GetSimple Support Forum (http://get-simple.info/forums)
+-- Forum: GetSimple (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: General Questions and Problems (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+--- Thread: get_grandparent ?! (/showthread.php?tid=7511)



get_grandparent ?! - stwneu - 2015-08-27

Hi all!

I'm usually calling my sidebars with something like:

PHP Code:
<?php if (get_parent(0)=='test' or return_page_slug()=='test'get_component('sidebar-test') ; ?>

Now I have a section where I have grandchildren and even grand-grand-children, which should also have the same sidebar. Since there isn't something like "get_grandparent", do you have a hint for me?

Thanks!


RE: get_grandparent ?! - bluzer - 2015-08-28

Correct me if I am wrong but wouldn't/doesn't
<?php if (return_page_slug()=='page you want the side bar on' ) get_component('sidebar-name') ;?>
work - or do you have pages with the same name under different "parents"?


RE: get_grandparent ?! - stwneu - 2015-09-02

That's right, but if I would do it this way, I would have to add a lot of pages, which is, why I'm looking for another way Undecided


RE: get_grandparent ?! - Everyone - 2015-09-02

If I understand correctly, you'd like to have something like:


PHP Code:
<?php if( hasParent('test') || return_page_slug() == 'test'get_component('sidebar-test'); ?>

?


RE: get_grandparent ?! - stwneu - 2015-09-02

(2015-09-02, 18:23:18)Everyone Wrote: If I understand correctly, you'd like to have something like:



PHP Code:
<?php if( hasParent('test') || return_page_slug() == 'test'get_component('sidebar-test'); ?>

?

To visualize it a little: 
I would like to add a certain sidebar to all children of "Main Element 2". If we have only one sub-level (Second level), the script I posted originally works just fine. But then "Third level" does not have the same sidebar.
  • Main Element 1 
  • MainElement 2
    - Second level
       - Third level
  • Main Element 3



RE: get_grandparent ?! - Carlos - 2015-09-02

Perhaps this: http://www.cyberiada.org/cnb/log/check-if-page-or-subpage-of/
http://get-simple.info/forums/showthread.php?tid=4004&pid=31864#pid31864