GetSimple Support Forum
QUESTION How to alter urls and title ? - Printable Version

+- GetSimple Support Forum (http://get-simple.info/forums)
+-- Forum: GetSimple (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Developer Discussions (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: QUESTION How to alter urls and title ? (/showthread.php?tid=8780)



How to alter urls and title ? - morvy - 2016-10-18

Hello all,

I'm trying to create a simple plugin, something like catalog..

I've tried to change title by doing


PHP Code:
global $title;
$title "new title"

but this doesn't work..
another thing is, what is the best way to implement url structure in GS ?


I'm using something like this:

Code:
RewriteRule ^catalog/(.+)?\/(.+)?\/(.+)?$ index.php?id=catalog&main=$1&sub=$2&detail=$3 [QSA,L]
RewriteRule ^catalog/(.+)?\/(.+)?$ index.php?id=catalog&main=$1&sub=$2 [QSA,L]
RewriteRule ^catalog/(.+)?$ index.php?id=catalog&main=$1 [QSA,L]
+
PHP Code:
if (isset($_GET['id']) && $_GET['id']=="catalog") {
 
   if(!empty($_GET['detail'])) {
 
       add_filter('content''detail_list');
 
   }
 
   elseif(!empty($_GET['sub'])) {
 
       add_filter('content''sub_list');
 
   }
 
   elseif(!empty($_GET['main'])) {
 
       add_filter('content''main_list');
 
   }
 
   else add_filter'content''all_list' );


Thanks for any feedback !


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - shawn_a - 2016-10-18

I think someone made a route plugin


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - morvy - 2016-10-18

I know, but using plugin for a plugin isn't ideal solution. I think you mean Extra Router.

What about the title? is there a way how to replace the title ? Or am I triggering wrong hook for it ?


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - shawn_a - 2016-10-18

Ohh i see

Umm title for what a specific page, non existant page?
What hook are you using?


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - morvy - 2016-10-18

Yes, I need to change title (and <title> tag) in every generated page. Content comes from json files updated by cron every 12 hours (in real, it updates records once in a week maybe), so everything is basically outside of GS, only "catalog" page is there as a placeholder with metadata and for custom template file if needed.

I tried to use index-pretemplate, content-top hooks but nothing changed, content filter works fine for displaying data in page content, but there is no filter for titles in 3.3


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - Bigin - 2016-10-18

(2016-10-18, 16:24:28)morvy Wrote: I tried to use index-pretemplate, content-top hooks but nothing changed, content filter works fine for displaying data in page content, but there is no filter for titles in 3.3

I tried to use following and both seems to work well:

Code:
add_action('index-pretemplate', '__change_page_data');
function __change_data() {
    global $title;
    $title = 'My Title';
}

Code:
add_filter('data_index', '__change_page_data');
function __change_page_data() {
    global $data_index;
    $data_index->title = 'My Title';
        $data_index->content = 'Here's my content';
    return $data_index;
}



RE: How to alter urls and title ? - morvy - 2016-10-18

Thanks, something new that I didn't know about (data_index stuff). Both tricks work, but only for return_page_title in <head>, when calling the same function in <body> I see original title (Catalog)


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - Bigin - 2016-10-18

I can't imagine that, unless you use cached content


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - morvy - 2016-10-18

Switched to default template and worked fine, so I did a research of my custom functions and found out that breadcrumbs are causing this issue Sad it was using $title so it replaced it there.

problems fixed, thank you guys again for your help!


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - shawn_a - 2016-10-18

Why not have your cron job just update the xml pages files titles?


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - morvy - 2016-10-18

Shawn, it's nearly 700 entries that need to remain in json because it's used elsewhere too .. so having GS with 700 pages in menu structure would be overkill


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - shawn_a - 2016-10-18

I see.

I would use data_index filter for all of this, since globals are set from data_index and other plugins might be using either.

one hook and you just inject your entire phantom page.


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - shawn_a - 2016-10-18

The front end router plugin is what I was referring to, but it was buggy.

I have my own fork i was fixing up.
https://github.com/tablatronix/gs-front-router/commits/feature_dataindex

https://github.com/lokothodida/gs-front-router/issues/5


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - morvy - 2016-10-19

the router thing looks too difficult for my scenario, so those 3 lines in htaccess seem fine for now.

$data_index is pretty cool Smile I'm using it also for other fields now, so I can reuse different template and join local and remote entries Smile


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - trantulong - 2019-10-01

My history is having the url http: // a and I want to switch to https://... [MODERATOR NOTE: SPAM - NON GS SITE - REMOVED], what should I do?


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - Felix - 2019-10-02

(2019-10-01, 16:56:34)trantulong Wrote: My history is having the url http: // a and I want to switch to [...], what should I do?

    http://get-simple.info/wiki/security:https-ssl

    How to setup GetSimple on HTTPS/SSL

    As of 3.0, you will be able to install GetSimple with a SSL certificate.
    Install as you normally would
    Confirm the “Website Base URL” is set with the https protocol.

    Go to the backend and open the Admin and set there the website base url
    Empty the cache

    Be sure that all files within your theme and plugins are using https in the url
    Check that all your pictures are linked to https

    If something is still not working after moving to https
    load all the pages from /data and /data-subdirectories into a good code editor, f.e. notepad++ (not Word!)
    do a global search and replace, update the URLs of all objects which refer to http://www.olddomain.tld
    to https. After that, upload these updated files to your server


RE: How to alter urls and title ? - Oleg06 - 2019-10-02

I also recommend adding to the file .htaccess
Code:
RewriteCond %{ENV:HTTPS} !on
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L,R=301]