Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Plugin "Newsfeed"
Alright,

I'm joining the fray and will try to create a plugin. I'm opening this thread in order to post questions and snapshots. I'm a newbie so please bear with me. I don't expect any ready-made solutions as replies to my questions, a simple "RTFM at [link]" and a few hints here and there will mostly do I believe.

My goal is to create a plugin which maintains an ATOM newsfeed and syncs feed items on creation/modification/deletion of pages.

I will update this thread irregularly.

04.04.2011 → Progress on basic file and folder checks, setting up the environment so SimpleXML can enter the stage soon

09.04.2011 → Handling the XML and stuff
My first question is if I can somehow check for creation of a page with a hook?

I saw a page-delete and a changedata-save hook in the wiki docs, but none for when a page is created. Have I overlooked it?

Can I maybe use changedata-save with some additional check if the page already had a respective xml file in /data/pages? I'm thinking of reading in the existing pages into an array and then check for existence.
polyfragmented Wrote:My first question is if I can somehow check for creation of a page with a hook?

I saw a page-delete and a changedata-save hook in the wiki docs, but none for when a page is created. Have I overlooked it?

Can I maybe use changedata-save with some additional check if the page already had a respective xml file in /data/pages? I'm thinking of reading in the existing pages into an array and then check for existence.

If I remember correctly, check for isset($_POST['post-id']) on changedata-save: if it's not set, it's a new page.
I18N, I18N Search, I18N Gallery, I18N Special Pages - essential plugins for multi-language sites.
mvlcek Wrote:If I remember correctly, check for isset($_POST['post-id']) on changedata-save: if it's not set, it's a new page.

Thanks, will look into it.