Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dummy PHP file, for offline web page testing / creation.
First off, hello all!

http://internetimagery.com/downloads/dummy.zip <-- File is here, to skip text and download script.

I'll just come out and say it off the bat. I love this CMS. While I haven't made much and I'm totally new to web design (extremely new), this is the one I have seen to resonate with me the easiest.

I have learnt the basics using Dream Weaver, and love the fact that I can simply pop in the few tags this CMS has into a static page, and out comes a website. Even more so, I love how easy it is to add multiple templates to a single web page, and dynamic content with the "dynpages" plugin.

With this development process in mind, I had trouble previewing web page components offline, and didn't like the idea of editing templates with tags at the last moment. So I figured it was necessary to make a script that emulates user input simply, using the same template tags.

I did a quick search and couldn't see a script like this already existing, so apologies if it has already been done (and please point me in its direction if it is more comprehensive or accurate).

YOU CAN DOWNLOAD DUMMY.PHP HERE.
http://internetimagery.com/downloads/dummy.zip

The idea with this script is that you place an "include(dummy.php)" line at the top of your template page while working on it. Throw the script into the same folder, and like magic all your template tags suddenly work.

Now you can mess around with things and see the result as though it had been uploaded, and when you do finally upload your template to your CMS site, all you need to do is remove the "include("dummp.php")" line and it will work.

Everything (with the exception of navigation tags) is independent. So if you wanted to keep a few template tags displaying dummy info you could (NOTE: I haven't tested this, and it may just cause conflict issues).