Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
recursive text on subdirectories
Hi,
thanks for all the work you're doing to keep this jewel-CMS alive and running.
I'm a php beginner and perhaps my question is just silly. It's about how to recurse a specific text-string in a whole subdirectory.
I have a code like this one:

<?php if (return_page_slug()=='company') { ?><h2>More info</h2><?php } ?>

It returns the text "more info" on the page "company".
But how to make this text appearing also on all the child pages of "company"?
Thanks for your help!
PHP Code:
<?php if (get_parent(false)=='company' || return_page_slug()=='company') { ?><h2>More info</h2><?php ?>
Thanks a lot, Carlos!
Coming back to this topic (I didn't improve my php knowledge during Xmas time...), the solution above works perfectly for child pages but, unfortunately, it fails for nephews.
I was therefore wondering if exists a code useful to overcome the problem and that could be used along all the sub-sub-pages of a specific section?
Thanks in advance for your answers.
Try this:

PHP Code:
<?php
if ( (get_parent(false)!='' && returnPageField(get_parent(false),'parent')=='company') || get_parent(false)=='company' || return_page_slug()=='company') { ?>
<h2>More info</h2>
<?php ?>

If this were to be used for several other pages, not only company, it would be better to create a function for this, of course.
Thanks Carlos,
I tried but, unfortunately, it didn't work. Nephews are still without a text.

And, indeed, is as you pointed out: I should use this code on different pages, actually one for each section because each section of the site has sub-sub directories within.

Is there a difference if I place the right code onto the template.php (with so many 'if' as the sections of the site) rather than onto functions.php? Why do you think it is better to create a function?

Sorry for this probably silly questions but I'm a real beginner with php...