Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
CMS Newbie
Hello,
I am a web designer and have never used a content management system before. Get Simple was recommended to me because I need something basic for small business websites. I am still uncertain as to how these systems work. Could you give me a very brief overview of how this can be integrated into the website that I already have?

I have a site that is hosted by Blue Host. I would like to add one page where the client can add some simple things like promotions, news, etc on their end. I would like the page to look similar to the other pages I have created (same header, nav bar, etc). How does this work? Can I use Dreamweaver for this? How will the client access the page to edit data? I'd just like to get a basic understanding before I download. Thank you.
GS has a nice admin panel that lets the user easily edit pages. Install a test site and try it, or check the demo.

As for adapting your current static template, see this post:
http://get-simple.info/forums/showthread...3#pid31743
and links in the following post (#3)
Okay. So would I need the new template for just the page that I want the client to edit or would I need to rewrite the rest of the site that will not be editable?
How many pages do you already have designed? It seems to be counter-productive to use the CMS for only one page... in case they were wanting to make changes to the other pages as well...

I personally would create a layout template for each page you already have designed. And manage the content of all pages through the CMS.

I think once you get started and see how easy it is to use, you will probably use GetSimple for your future projects.

(2013-02-01, 03:31:57)kcelsi Wrote: Okay. So would I need the new template for just the page that I want the client to edit or would I need to rewrite the rest of the site that will not be editable?