Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Different Sidebars for each page
I am a newbie and whilst I've managed to set up 3 pages etc I do not understand how to have separate sidebars for each page. I do not really understand how a page connects to the sidebar.

I have read the post:
http://get-simple.info/forums/showthread...t=sidebars

but I have absolutely no idea where to put the code:
<?php get_component((string) return_page_slug()); ?>

Any help would be very much appreciated thanks. Blush
You want to put that code in the 'template.php' file of your theme (/themes/Theme-Folder/template.php) right in the place where the component with the proper sidebar needs to be.

This might be a good read.
In your theme the file template.php will have the tag in it
PHP Code:
<?php get_component('sidebar'); ?>
which inserts the contents of the component sidebar into every page which uses that template.

An easy way to get a different sidebar on a new page is to copy and rename template.php and edit the new template to insert a different component.

That's fine for a small site but not particularly good practice because now if you want to make a change elsewhere in the template you need to change every template the same. Some snippets of code for using one template and multiple components by page slug are given here:
http://get-simple.info/wiki/components-d...n-the_page

In your case with three pages you could use the first snippet so that if you have pages with the slugs index, about, contact and components named peter, paul and mary you would replace <?php get_component(sidebar); ?> with
PHP Code:
<?php if (return_page_slug()=='index') {get_component('peter');}
 elseif (
return_page_slug()=='about') {get_component('paul');}
else {
get_component('mary');} ?>
which in English reads
Quote: if the page slug is index insert the component peter, otherwise if the page slug is about insert the component paul and otherwise just insert the component mary