Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
QUESTION How to Convert Component to a Function?
I'm rather new to PHP and not sure how to do the following:

I want to include some code in my themes "functions.php" rather than add it as a component in GS. This code currently enables Zurb Foundation's "top bar" multi-level drop downs to work with GS.

Im not sure how to convert or whether its even possible to convert the code into a function that can be called in my themes template to render the menu correctly?

Currently the code below is is included in a component named "nav":

PHP Code:
<?php

$s 
= array('current''activepath''currentpath''open');
$r = array('active''active''active''has-dropdown');
$c str_replace($s$r$item->classes);
?>
  <li class="<?php echo $c?>"><?php if ($item->isOpen) { ?><a href="<?php echo htmlspecialchars($item->link); ?>"><?php echo htmlspecialchars($item->text); ?></a>
      <ul class="dropdown">
      <?php $item->outputChildren(); ?>
      </ul><?php } else { ?>
<a href="<?php echo htmlspecialchars($item->link); ?>"><?php echo htmlspecialchars($item->text); ?></a><?php ?></li><?php echo "\n"?>

and this component is then called in my template using:

PHP Code:
<?php get_i18n_navigation(get_page_slug(FALSE),0,2,I18N_SHOW_MENU'nav'); ?>

Can anybody guide me on whether this is possible, and how to do it correctly?

Thanks in advance

Boneye
Of course it is possible. In your functions.php file, simply wrap all of that code in a custom function & call it in your template. However, I don't know of any I18n parameter in that function to use custom markup (not a component), so you might need to use the return_i18n_menu_data function, like this:

PHP Code:
<?php

function build_i18n_nav($data$loop 0) {

$activeClass 'active';

$subMenuClass 'dropdown';

$output '<ul' . ($loop !== ' class="' $subMenuClass '"' '') . '>';
    for (
$i 0$i count($data); $i++) {

$item $data[$i];