Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Accessing and changing content when a page is saved
Hi all, I'm new to GetSimple (I love it) and I'm curious: is there a way of intercepting the content when a user saves a page, without hacking changedata.php ?

I made a textile plugin that converts textile to HTML on the fly, but my first instinct was to try to do the conversion when the page is saved, as there's no reason in principle why it should be done when the page is requested.

I see the action changedata-save, but I can't see how to manipulate the content - maybe I haven't looked hard enough.
You can just use the changedata-save hook for this. Above that one the following code has been used:
Code:
$note = $xml->addChild('content');
        $note->addCData(@$content);
You’re going to want your plugin to grab $content, run your filter, and change the content child of the SimpleXML object to your own output.

That’s all, when your plugin has changed the SimpleXML object it will get saved to the file because changedata-save runs before the actual XML-file creation.
“Don’t forget the important ˚ (not °) on the a,” says the Unicode lover.
Help us test a key change for the core! ¶ Problems with GetSimple? Be sure to enable debug mode!
Zegnåt Wrote:...and change the content child of the SimpleXML object to your own output

How?

Let's say I want to replace any "Hi!" in the content to "Hello!"
I've tried:
Code:
$xml->content = str_replace('Hi!','Hello!',@$content);
but then the content in the xml file does not have "<![CDATA[" and "]]>"
I couldn't get that to work, but I'm not too worried: as I say, I've got the plugin running when the pages are displayed, like so...

Code:
add_filter('content','html_from_textile');

# functions
function html_from_textile($content) {
    $textile = new Textile;
    $html = $textile->TextileThis(stripslashes($content));
    return $html;
}

...which works fine.