Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
proper use and license of getsimple cms
I've been testing GetSimple. and I really like how it works. but I have some doubts about the proper use and licensing of the cms, I read that uses the GNU GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE.
but I know very little about each particular license.

my questions are:
1 .- Can I use GetSimple cms to create sites for my clients and collect money for my services?

2 .- I want keep the GetSimple credit link, but if I create a theme based on the original html + css theme code (Default_Simple) must also include the credit of the original creator of the theme?

3 .- If I use GetSimple cms for my projects can I include in the footer my credits?

I know these questions sound like a newbie questions, but I do not want to break any rules.

please excuse my English but it is not my native language

thanks for GetSimple.
Please note that, although I’m answering, I’m far from a licensing expert neither am I a trained lawyer. Also, as it’s pretty late I don’t want to read trough the complete licence. These answers might be wrong and I will probably revise them tomorrow after having taken a good look at the licence.

Do not take any of these answers as legal advice, I’m not planning on taking responsibility for anything here.

homero_chapa Wrote:Can I use GetSimple CMS to create websites for my clients and collect money for my services?
Yes. Though I think you will need to supply them with a copy of the GPL when you provide them with a copy of GetSimple as all copies (even if you have done some editing to the core) need a copy of the licence and are covered by the same GPL as the original distribution.

homero_chapa Wrote:I want keep the GetSimple credit link, but if I create a theme based on the original html + css theme code (Default_Simple) must also include the credit of the original creator of the theme?