Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2013
2015-02-03, 11:41:32
It would be very helpful if there is an option to use different logo image (or text) for different languages. I guess this is meant to be solved in I18N plugin. I believe it would be very simple if only the language slug should be added to the logo image (Ex. Original logo image is "logo.png", for German it should be "logo_de.png", for Macedonian "logo_mk.png" etc.)... As for the site name there is a variable, and that is usually used to generate logo text, I guess that would require adding more fields, but to keep it simple, there can be an option to add components named "logo_de", "logo_mk" etc. that will contain the corresponding translation for the logotype text.
Posts: 1,247
Threads: 82
Joined: Feb 2011
2015-02-03, 21:23:56
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-03, 21:27:33 by datiswous.)
Is it not possible to use a template file for this?
http://get-simple.info/wiki/how_to:page_...ge_options
Off course it would be nice to be able to set a default template file per language.
Posts: 1,928
Threads: 88
Joined: Apr 2010
2015-02-03, 21:59:21
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-03, 22:00:37 by Oleg06.)
Try this in the template
Code:
<?php if ($language == 'en') { ?><img src="logo_en.png"><?php } ?>
<?php if ($language == 'de') { ?><img src="logo_de.png"><?php } ?>
<?php if ($language == 'es') { ?><img src="logo_es.png"><?php } ?>
(2015-02-03, 11:41:32)sashozs Wrote: It would be very helpful if there is an option to use different logo image (or text) for different languages. I guess this is meant to be solved in I18N plugin. I believe it would be very simple if only the language slug should be added to the logo image (Ex. Original logo image is "logo.png", for German it should be "logo_de.png", for Macedonian "logo_mk.png" etc.)... As for the site name there is a variable, and that is usually used to generate logo text, I guess that would require adding more fields, but to keep it simple, there can be an option to add components named "logo_de", "logo_mk" etc. that will contain the corresponding translation for the logotype text.
Posts: 6,267
Threads: 182
Joined: Sep 2011
Why not just do src= image$lang.jpg
Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2013
Yes, I liked Oleg's idea... That's pretty simple and elegant. How come I haven't thought of that?
I feel stupid now
...however, I think it would still be nice to have that as an integrated option, as there are people who just don't want to mess with code. I think Shawn understands what I mean. (Remember the guy switching to wordpress form a ready made getsimple website, just for a stupid css line that you've already written for him, and he only should've copy the code in the CSS? That's what I mean - those guys.)