Posts: 13
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
2010-12-03, 01:30:03
(This post was last modified: 2010-12-03, 01:36:22 by nekrasov.)
Invalid Referer
Getting this msg on 'edit.php' all of a sudden on one of my sites? we seemed to be updating pages ok until one page errored this way and now new pages can't be created. anyone have an idea of problem?
Thanks!
Frank
Posts: 1,204
Threads: 30
Joined: Jun 2010
2010-12-03, 08:32:33
(This post was last modified: 2010-12-03, 08:34:04 by BlackRose.)
Have you tried to edit/create pages in different browsers ?
Did you mess with option in the browser you have used before starting this thread ?
Maybe you messed up with rewrite rules ?
Addons: blue business theme, Online Visitors, Notepad
Posts: 13
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
different browsers is probable as I use firefox and other person updating probably uses EI. Would that have caused something I can fix?
I really appreciate the help!!
Posts: 1,204
Threads: 30
Joined: Jun 2010
I don't understand what's the exact problem.
You all can't edit nor create new pages because of an error occurred after editing one of pages ?
Or is it that there's a "invalid referer" error while using one type of browser ?
The first one could be fixed by deleting manually the page from data/pages (edit it first and copy its content, to simply create a new page and paste the text)
If this is a browser specific error (invalid referer) the problem may lie in different places.
For example cookies might be corrupted (not being saved, prevented from being used etc), antivirus/firewall might change (or corrupt) browser headers and so on.
Other things might be that the user is behind a proxy server, which is filtering data.
That's all I can say. I'd try another browser, or at least create a fresh profile in the currently used one.
Addons: blue business theme, Online Visitors, Notepad
Posts: 972
Threads: 27
Joined: Aug 2009
What version of GetSimple are you using?
The error you’re talking about should only be given when the browser defines a referrer that doesn’t match edit.php. (If no referrer is specified it will ignore this check.)
This is the code used, straight from the SVN:
Code:
// check form referrer - needs siteurl and edit.php in it.
if (isset($_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'])) {
if ( !(strpos(str_replace('http://www.', '', $SITEURL), $_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER']) === false) || !(strpos("edit.php", $_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER']) === false)) {
echo "<b>Invalid Referer</b><br />-------<br />";
echo 'Invalid Referer: ' . htmlentities($_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'], ENT_QUOTES);
die;
}
}
As you can see, some kind of debug information should be given when this error is displayed. It should put the invalid referrer on the page. Could you tell us what data it displays there, since it might hold the key to what’s going wrong.
Posts: 13
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
happening with several sites, sometimes just goes away but think it starts when more than one computer updates a page? is once this happens can't even create a new page get the same error
Invalid Referer:
http://www.orienteband.com/site/admin/edit.php - any ideas?
Posts: 2,928
Threads: 195
Joined: Feb 2011
ourgig Wrote:happening with several sites, sometimes just goes away but think it starts when more than one computer updates a page? is once this happens can't even create a new page get the same error
Invalid Referer: http://www.orienteband.com/site/admin/edit.php - any ideas?
PLEASE tell the version of GS as you were asked already
Posts: 13
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
Connie Wrote:ourgig Wrote:happening with several sites, sometimes just goes away but think it starts when more than one computer updates a page? is once this happens can't even create a new page get the same error
Invalid Referer: http://www.orienteband.com/site/admin/edit.php - any ideas?
PLEASE tell the version of GS as you were asked already
2.01 - thanks
Posts: 1,848
Threads: 86
Joined: Aug 2009
2.01 is no longer supported. You should
upgrade to 3.0.
-
Chris
Thanks for using GetSimple! - Download
Please do not email me directly for help regarding GetSimple. Please post all your questions/problems in the forum!
Posts: 13
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
ccagle8 Wrote:2.01 is no longer supported. You should upgrade to 3.0.
ok i will do that today - thanks!
Posts: 1,204
Threads: 30
Joined: Jun 2010
ourgig Wrote:Invalid Referer: http://www.orienteband.com/site/admin/edit.php - any ideas?
Does it happen only when you surf using a certain browser ?
Did you try with under other browser ?
Addons: blue business theme, Online Visitors, Notepad
Posts: 13
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
yojoe Wrote:ourgig Wrote:Invalid Referer: http://www.orienteband.com/site/admin/edit.php - any ideas?
Does it happen only when you surf using a certain browser ?
Did you try with under other browser ?
i think the occurs when multiple users/browsers update pages as those cases are the only i see this. perhaps upgrade will fix me.
i appreciate everyones help!