GS Blog v1.4 - Printable Version +- GetSimple Support Forum (http://get-simple.info/forums) +-- Forum: GetSimple (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=3) +--- Forum: Plugins (http://get-simple.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=13) +--- Thread: GS Blog v1.4 (/showthread.php?tid=3200) |
GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-15 IMPORTANT This thread is for older versions of the GS Blog Plugin which are no longer updated and maintained. Please also look at the GS Blog Version 1.4 Click Here To Download View GitHub Repos. Outline Of Plugin:
To enable Disqus Comments:
Manage Posts Create/Edit Posts Manage Categories Manage RSS Feed Importer Screenshot Settings Screenshot RSS Feed Importer Screenshot Manage Custom Fields Screenshot Help Screenshot GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-16 Version 1.1 Will Provide
GS Blog v1.4 - zoorgan - 2012-05-16 I apologize for my English. Install the plugin, configured it. For testing I needed to copy the page code: Display blog categoriesBelow is your blogs RSS feed: <?php show_blog_categories(); ?> Display blog search bar: <?php show_blog_search(); ?> Display blog archives: <?php show_blog_archives(); ?> Show your blogs most recent posts: <?php show_blog_recent_posts(); ?> The result you can see for yourself. News is not displayed. What is the problem? GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-16 zoorgan Wrote:I apologize for my English. You must choose the page to display the blog posts on the gs blog-> settings page. I believe that is your problem. GS Blog v1.4 - zoorgan - 2012-05-16 http://gyazo.com/ce92818cef874a5f1153773cf221854b.png?1337099997 page is selected GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-16 zoorgan Wrote:http://gyazo.com/ce92818cef874a5f1153773cf221854b.png?1337099997 The template must have the <?php get_page_content(); ?> function. Can you confirm that is in place? GS Blog v1.4 - zoorgan - 2012-05-16 http://gyazo.com/9ff7711e10d0cf88f9d70f9a1837fa39.png?1337100290 GS Blog v1.4 - shawn_a - 2012-05-16 mikeh Wrote:zoorgan Wrote:http://gyazo.com/ce92818cef874a5f1153773cf221854b.png?1337099997 I think this is active on all pages, looks like the page slug code is hardcoded to index in blog_display_posts GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-16 Thank you shawn! I can't believe I left that in there. It has been fixed in repo and extend. @zoorgan update the plugin from extend. GS Blog v1.4 - zoorgan - 2012-05-16 Thank you very much. GS Blog v1.4 - CrimsonDemon - 2012-05-16 Mikeh, I got to say, I LOVE what you do On to my question, I just started using this cms today so I don't know much, is there a php code to show the date stamp of individual posts? GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-16 CrimsonDemon Wrote:Mikeh, I got to say, I LOVE what you do You would have to modify the core a bit. Edit the show_blog_post() function * to get the date it would be <?php echo $post->date; ?> I will include a switch in version 1.1 to display date. GS Blog v1.4 - CrimsonDemon - 2012-05-16 mikeh Wrote:CrimsonDemon Wrote:Mikeh, I got to say, I LOVE what you do Thanks for the quick reply! Tried it and it works, yay Any idea how to change the date format though? GS Blog v1.4 - yojoe - 2012-05-16 Mike: I haven't tried your plugin yet, but I've got some questions about its functionalities: 1. is it possible to have 2 (and more) news containers on one page with different setup ? f.e. last 5 news with thumbnail and excerpt, headers of latest 10 announcements, and so on. 2. is the content created by your plugin searchable using i18n_search ? Does it offer tagging and categorizing news with tags ? 3.The more, is it compatible with all Martin's plugins ? Or it's more a standalone solution, like newsmanager plugin ? GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-16 CrimsonDemon Wrote:Try somthing like this:mikeh Wrote:CrimsonDemon Wrote:Mikeh, I got to say, I LOVE what you do Code: <?php $variable = get_locale_date(strtotime($post->date), '%b %e, %Y'); echo $variable; ?> GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-16 yojoe Wrote:Mike: I haven't tried your plugin yet, but I've got some questions about its functionalities: 1. What do you mean by news containers? You can only have one instance of the blog. Tell me if the below function is what you are looking for Function to allow parameters to be passed to display specific categories or posts that match a criteria
2 & 3. I have not used the majority of Martin's plugins so I do not know how they behave and they were not a consideration when creating this plugin. Is there any specific manors you would like this plugin to integrate with his? GS Blog v1.4 - shawn_a - 2012-05-16 For future roadmap, id love to see the same, templates for post llistings, and an inline insertion string replacer or whatever to insert them or multiples wherever you want. Not a big fan of slug replacer setups. GS Blog v1.4 - leenm - 2012-05-16 First of all, great plugin. When I choose to display an exerpt on the posts page, I see the following warning (and no text): Code: Warning: substr() expects parameter 3 to be long, object given in D:\www\site.com\plugins\blog\class\Blog.php on line 560 GS Blog v1.4 - mikeh - 2012-05-16 leenm Wrote:First of all, great plugin.Did you choose excerpt length? GS Blog v1.4 - leenm - 2012-05-16 mikeh Wrote:Did you choose excerpt length?Of course, that was the first thing I checked Figured out what the problem is, parameter 3 ($maxchars) is passed as string, when long is expected. Fixed it by changing line 558 of Blog.php Code: public function create_excerpt($content, $start, $maxchars) Code: public function create_excerpt($content, $start, (int) $maxchars) My PHP version: 5.3.10 GS Blog v1.4 - focoves - 2012-05-16 hi mikeh, nice plugin. thank you!! I'm testing it in my localhost weird things I've seen: - is only working for index. ++ (edited) SOLVED with your small upgrade - when working on editing pages, the back end UI shows two buttons as active: EDIT PAGE and BLOG MANAGER (in orange both, see attach) ++ (edited) SOLVED, was my win/xampp environment - running perfect over linux/apache one request is it possible to append the blog Excerpt content for a few latest posts IN ANOTHER PAGE? not meaning in RECENT POST (<?php show_blog_recent_posts(); ?> ), but showing some properties like: DATE, TITLE, EXCERPT My intention is including a small "blog area" inside of HOME static content and thanks again for sharing your efforts! GS Blog v1.4 - yojoe - 2012-05-16 mikeh Wrote:1. What do you mean by news containers? You can only have one instance of the blog. Tell me if the below function is what you are looking for Ohh that should cover all questions I'd come up with. I didn't ask for plugin instances, as you mentioned about categories. It was rather a question if displaying news list by categories is possible (like i18n_search based on page tags). I just have to lay my hands on this plug and see what I can break When it goes to i18n plugin, it would be great if your plugin would support them. Especially search , and galleries. One more thing. Would it be possible to display excerpt of a news, based on a tag ? Atm excerpt's length is a fixed value (chars, paragraph etc). But the length of excerpt may vary - sometimes 1 paragraph, sometimes 2. If there would be a way to pass a variable to create an excerpt per page, it would be great. F.e {intro} below the excerpt in page content. focoves: if you make tests on windows OS and you encounter problems, try on a linux based production environment GS Blog v1.4 - chrsand - 2012-05-16 Thank you for a nice plugin and for your immense contribution to GS in general. Please include a translation string for the "Add Category" button and the "There are no post yet." remark in a next release. Best Chris GS Blog v1.4 - focoves - 2012-05-16 attached spanish language for gs blog v1.0 I've keep "post" in place of "publicacion" in order to keep clean layout on buttons Some sentences like "POST TITLE" or DATE header (back end -> manage post) or ADD CATEGORY or ADD RSS or GO BACK TO PREVIOUS PAGE (front end) are NOT in i18n array, but hardcoded in plugins folder -> blog.php file regards GS Blog v1.4 - chrsand - 2012-05-16 Thank you. No problem hard coding the translation of the buttons into the .php file but when updating the plugin then the translated butten values will be substituted for the hardcoded language. NB: Should li 57b in the spanish language file not state publishingdate/time? And what is the blank field on the right hand side of the pub date/time for? I will shorten the butten value texts and review the Danish translation once more before resubmitting Best Chris |