User Tools

Site Tools


Upgrade 2.x to 3.x

  1. Take a backup of your site first
  2. On your server, copy or delete the folder: /admin/. Sometimes the easiest thing to do is to copy /admin/ to /admin-old/.
    • HINT: If you have a language file other than en_US.php, make sure you save off a copy from within /admin/lang/
  3. Upload the new /admin/ folder from the download you unzipped.
  4. Update your root level index.php file from the one within the downloaded zip file
  5. Fix the .htaccess file's rewrite rules to look like this: RewriteRule /?([A-Za-z0-9_-]+)/?$ index.php?id=$1 [QSA,L] The underscore “_” is what's different here.
  6. The first time you try and log in after uploading, update.php will run and attempt to re-organize all the data XML files. This is required in order to support multi-user capabilities.


If you encounter problems logging in or during update.php, you can try and take one of these two drastic steps to help reinstall your site:

Option #1

  1. Create a new installation of GetSimple on your server with the download of 3.0
  2. Complete the installation so you now have a blank 3.0 GetSimple site.
  3. Copy over the following files/folders from your old site:
    • /data/pages
    • /data/other (for 3.1)
    • gsconfig.php
    • Any languages you might have installed in /admin/lang
    • Any plugins you might have installed in /plugins

Option #2

  1. Delete/Copy off website.xml, user.xml and cpsettings.xml from your server's /data/other/ folder.
    • You will need to remember the settings within these files so when you go thru the installation again, you can put back the settings.
  2. Make sure that setup.php and install.php are still located within your /admin/ folder (they get deleted by the install if it thinks everything is already installed)
    • We are effectly tricking the install to think that this is a brand new installation, and it will re-create these files upon install.
  3. Try to login. It should redirect you to a brand new install page. A new installation will never touch existing page files.
  4. When you are logged in, remember to re-setup all your settings that were lost when you deleted the 3 files from step #1. Remember to go in and re-choose your theme.


Back to the GetSimple Wiki Contents Page

installation/upgrading_from_getsimple_v2.x.txt · Last modified: 2014/01/30 11:43 by Timbow