Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to compress HTML output?
Please help me to compress the HTML output of the whole page by removing whitespaces and new lines. I tried using the below preg_replace function for compressing page content but nothing changed.

$mycontent = get_page_content();
preg_replace(“/(^[\r\n]*|[\r\n]+)[\s\t]*[\r\n]+/”, “\n”, $mycontent);
Using GetSimple 3.0
im not good with regex, so i cant check that for you, but dont you need to echo the output created by preg_replace?
- Chris
Thanks for using GetSimple! - Download

Please do not email me directly for help regarding GetSimple. Please post all your questions/problems in the forum!
Instead of stripping whole document from white lines and spaces why don't you compress whole outputted data ?
Assuming you host yourself on a pretty good provider, such compression is turned on by default, and just investigate headers your browsers get.
If not, mod_deflate and mod_gzip are the solutions you are looking for.
Especially when it goes to compressing all data, not only stripping whitespaces from document Wink
Addons: blue business theme, Online Visitors, Notepad
i like yojoe's suggestion better too - plus it's easier to implement.
- Chris
Thanks for using GetSimple! - Download

Please do not email me directly for help regarding GetSimple. Please post all your questions/problems in the forum!
Yes, i echoed the output.
Actually I'm already compressing the HTML using gzip compression, browser caching, expiry on my nginx server at Linode. I want to further clean out the source to to save few additional bytes. Please let me know how to do that.
I found this persion (http://get-simple.info/forum/topic/2143/...re-output/) also trying to do what i want, but don't know where/how to implement that hook.
Using GetSimple 3.0
if you really are
nvinanda Wrote:already compressing the HTML using gzip compression, browser caching, expiry on my nginx server at Linode