Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
functions for putting several sections on a single page
I downloaded this premium theme, called simplystic, so that I could pick it apart and see how it works. I'm mostly interested in its implementation of listing recent posts, and having multiple "get" actions on the same pages. it uses the page hierarchy functionality, and then allows you to pull content from its sub-pages, and list them, like you would in a wordpress post query.

if my explanation sucks, check out the demo:

http://getsimplethemes.com/demos/simplystic/

so, i'm not a php expert, and was wondering if anyone could help me pick apart exactly how they're doing this? i don't think i should link to the theme files publicly, as that would be unethical, but if someone has php experience, and thinks they could help, i can pm you the necessary files, and maybe we could figure it out?
This will probably sound incredibly stupid (because I don't think I've fully understood what you're asking for), but couldn't you more or less achieve this result using frames/iframes in your template/components/content?
I think that this is a bit of self-promotion by getsimplethemes.com.
--
Nick.
hameau Wrote:I think that this is a bit of self-promotion by getsimplethemes.com.
I agree Smile
We had all been beginners :)
no, i'm legitimately someone whose trying to pick apart the theme and reverse engineer what it's doing.

i think frames would be a really bad idea. one, because it can evidently be done without them, and two, because they shouldn't ever be used to display content from within your own domain. that just wreaks of bad practice.