Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2011
Hello everyone, I just started using GetSimple today, and I'm hugely impressed.
I finally got the hang of tidbits of stuff, but I'm still stuck at the most important part of the site; The navigation.
I'm making a site for Novemberfilm.no and the style that the menu I want is on this domain
www.novemberfilm.no
How do I make this work with the I18N Navigation / standard navigation?
Any help is VERY WELCOME!
Posts: 1,204
Threads: 30
Joined: Jun 2010
Builtin GS menu function is meant only for flat, 1 lvl menus.
You have to use one of available menu plugins.
Addons: blue business theme, Online Visitors, Notepad
Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2011
Hey yojoe,
thanks for the quick reply.
Would you be able to help me make this menu with the I18N Navigation plugin, you think?
Posts: 1,204
Threads: 30
Joined: Jun 2010
2011-06-17, 03:08:54
(This post was last modified: 2011-06-17, 03:11:08 by BlackRose.)
Everything you need is described in this example:
http://mvlcek.bplaced.net/multi-level-na...down-left/
You have to play with css to transform horizontal menu bar into vertical menu.
There are also plenty out of the box vertical menus across the web. Just find the one (G-> "css vertical menu") you'd like to use, and you shouldn't have much to do despite changing css classes/ID's.
edit: ohh when it goes to menus, Mvlcek is always to the rescue in a flash
Addons: blue business theme, Online Visitors, Notepad
Posts: 2,094
Threads: 54
Joined: Jan 2011
gSvoren Wrote:Hello everyone, I just started using GetSimple today, and I'm hugely impressed.
I finally got the hang of tidbits of stuff, but I'm still stuck at the most important part of the site; The navigation.
I'm making a site for Novemberfilm.no and the style that the menu I want is on this domain www.novemberfilm.no
How do I make this work with the I18N Navigation / standard navigation?
Any help is VERY WELCOME!
1. Install the I18N plugin and the I18N Custom Field plugin.
2. In the administration go to Plugins/Configure Custom Fields and create a text or link field named
link.
3. You have to create a page for each menu item, even for those with children like 'Produksjoner'. Make sure to check "Add to menu" in the page options and set the correct parent and position in the menu. You don't need any page content for the "folder" items like 'Produksjoner', but you should enter
javascript:void(0) into the link field.
4. Use the following in your template to include the navigation menu:
Code:
<ul id="qm0" class="qmmc">
<?php get_i18n_navigation(return_page_slug(),0,99,I18N_SHOW_MENU); ?>
</ul>
5. Copy the relevant CSS styles to your CSS file, but replace
.qmparent with
.open.
Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2011
Thank you both for the superfast replies, I will give it a try and post my results! :-)
Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2011
Update: It worked, thanks so much for your help! I'm super happy that it finally works. Thanks again, a ton!