Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
2013-02-15, 09:31:34
(This post was last modified: 2013-02-15, 09:34:53 by Carlos.)
(2013-02-15, 08:18:52)wampir Wrote: How i can make to view 3 letter like this Vel 2013 ??
You have to edit news_manager/inc/sidebar.php - around line 38, change this:
PHP Code: $title = nm_get_date('%B %Y', mktime(0, 0, 0, $m, 1, $y));
by this:
PHP Code: $title = nm_get_date('%b %Y', mktime(0, 0, 0, $m, 1, $y));
( date formats for strftime)
Note that you'll have to re-do that change when you upgrade the plugin.
Posts: 28
Threads: 8
Joined: Jan 2013
Yes work
Posts: 321
Threads: 15
Joined: Feb 2012
Hi Carlos,
is there a way to show only the Year when we use "nm_list_archives" instead of Month+Year?
My website made with GetSimple CMS is
Arte & Società
www.artesocieta.eu
An indipendent website about Italian Contemporary Visual Arts
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
You mean yearly/annual archives, I suppose. I had it in mind. I'll add a function for that.
Posts: 321
Threads: 15
Joined: Feb 2012
Thanks Carlos! It could be simply great!!!! With all these special addons NM should be a native part of GS!
My website made with GetSimple CMS is
Arte & Società
www.artesocieta.eu
An indipendent website about Italian Contemporary Visual Arts
Posts: 46
Threads: 9
Joined: Jan 2013
Can someone explain to me how to modify the css in the News Manager?
There doesn't appear to be a stylesheet.
Thanks.
Don
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
News Manager uses some predefined classes in posts, that you can style in your css.
See here: http://get-simple.info/forums/showthread.php?tid=1056 (section CSS)
Posts: 46
Threads: 9
Joined: Jan 2013
Just what I was looking for. Thank you.
Don
Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Apr 2011
How can i make "---more---" without Excerpt?
sorry for bad english
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
This plugin does not (still) have that feature. (And I don't know of any other GS plugin that does.)
Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2013
How would I go about adding a function to get the most recent one or two post excerpts to include on a sidebar?
I looked into this for awhile and I couldn't find anything, if you could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.
Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Apr 2011
(2013-02-20, 06:41:23)Carlos Wrote: This plugin does not (still) have that feature. (And I don't know of any other GS plugin that does.) I guess it's not hard to implement. Can you add new tag to make excerpt?
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
(2013-02-20, 09:53:09)roemhildtg Wrote: How would I go about adding a function to get the most recent one or two post excerpts to include on a sidebar?
I looked into this for awhile and I couldn't find anything, if you could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.
Some days ago I posted here about an addon plugin I'm developing for NM (it's in beta, but usable). I hadn't documented it: News Manager Addons plugin
Sorry for the poor docs, I'll update them...
Posts: 1,247
Threads: 82
Joined: Feb 2011
Hi sorry if it has been mentioned before:
The link to the plugin page in plugins section of a GetSimple install still directs to the old version of the plugin. see attachment.
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
@datiswous
Yes, thank you for reporting. Known issue, it's because the old and new plugins have the same filename (news_manager.php), then Extend returns the same link for both (in this case it's the oldest one, but I think that with some other plugin it happens the opposite).
I'll probably rename the plugin (my updated version) some day to fix this (to newsmanager, news-manager, news_management, or maybe something different)
BTW, more important than the link itself, is that the plugin management page does not tell if there's a new updated version in Extend.
Posts: 321
Threads: 15
Joined: Feb 2012
Hi Carlos,
if my NM uses inxex.php to shows all the news,
is there a way in NM to recognize if I clicked on a news or not?
example when I am on a page like this...?
http://www.mysite.com/index.php?post=news
My website made with GetSimple CMS is
Arte & Società
www.artesocieta.eu
An indipendent website about Italian Contemporary Visual Arts
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
2013-02-21, 05:53:28
(This post was last modified: 2013-02-21, 06:00:19 by Carlos.)
(2013-02-21, 05:21:22)D.O. Wrote: is there a way in NM to recognize if I clicked on a news or not?
I'll probably add some helper functions in the future...
In the meantime you could do:
PHP Code: <?php if (nm_post_title("","",0)) { ?> ... conditional content ... <?php } ?>
( nm_post_title is not intended for this, but it should do the trick...)
EDIT:
Hmm... I don't like this solution, it does an extra file read... Another -quick- way could be:
PHP Code: <?php if (isset($_GET['post'])) { ?> ... <?php } ?>
Posts: 321
Threads: 15
Joined: Feb 2012
Gracias Hermano,
it works perfectly. I developed your suggestions in this way...
Example: If we've news on the index page and we want to see an animation or a particular text only on the first page, but we don't want it on other pages (included NM archive/post/tag/page section), here's a very elementary solution...
Quote:if (return_page_slug() == 'index') {
if (isset($_GET['post']) == '') {
if (isset($_GET['archive']) == '') {
if (isset($_GET['tag']) == '') {
if (isset($_GET['page']) == '') {
echo get_component('intro'); } } } }
}
My website made with GetSimple CMS is
Arte & Società
www.artesocieta.eu
An indipendent website about Italian Contemporary Visual Arts
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
@D.O. I've made some changes to your code:
PHP Code: <?php if ( return_page_slug() == 'index' && !isset($_GET['post']) && !isset($_GET['archive']) && !isset($_GET['tag']) && !isset($_GET['page']) ) { get_component('intro'); } ?>
Posts: 1,247
Threads: 82
Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:Anyway if you're using News Manager 2.3+, instead of using this plugin you could edit your template to use the new nm_post_title tag. See here: http://get-simple.info/forums/showthread...1#pid31721
Thanks, I'm using version 2.3.2 so it seams I don't need to use the plugin.
Doesn't work, even in Cardinal. Still showing title of page + under that title of posts (+ dates).
This code is in Emerald2 theme now:
Code: <head>
<title><?php nm_post_title() or get_page_clean_title(); ?> ...</title>
<?php get_header(); ?>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<link href='http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Abel' rel='stylesheet' type='text/css'>
<link href="<?php get_theme_url(); ?>/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" />
</head>
Cardinal:
Code: <head>
<!-- Site Title -->
<title><?php nm_post_title() or get_page_clean_title(); ?> ...</title>
<?php get_header(); ?>
<meta name="robots" content="index, follow" />
<meta charset="utf-8">
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="<?php get_theme_url(); ?>/style.css" media="all" />
</head>
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
I've checked your site and I see it is working.
But you used the example I posted (with "..."). I suppose you want to display the site name after the page/post title, so it could be like:
Code: <title><?php nm_post_title() or get_page_clean_title(); ?> - <?php get_site_name(); ?> </title>
Posts: 321
Threads: 15
Joined: Feb 2012
Ty Carlos, it's perfect now!
My website made with GetSimple CMS is
Arte & Società
www.artesocieta.eu
An indipendent website about Italian Contemporary Visual Arts
Posts: 8
Threads: 0
Joined: Mar 2013
Hi,
2 questions (note that I'm a complete newbie). Is it possible, and if so can you explain me step by step how to do it:
1) To get some words in the title with each posts. like
- Title1 - Read more
- Title 2 - Read more ....
2) is there a possibility stamp a (javascript) code with each post at the bottom of the post
Thanks
Thomas
Posts: 3,491
Threads: 106
Joined: Mar 2010
1) I don't understand what you mean, sorry. You can select excerpts (with a maximum number of characters) instead of full posts, for the main/archives/etc pages. There's also a way to use exceprts in the recent posts list for the sidebar.
2) Currently you would have to edit the plugin's code (function nm_show_post, inc/site.php)
Posts: 1,247
Threads: 82
Joined: Feb 2011
2013-03-06, 07:14:19
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-06, 07:24:53 by datiswous.)
(2013-03-03, 18:16:00)Carlos Wrote: I've checked your site and I see it is working.
But you used the example I posted (with "..."). I suppose you want to display the site name after the page/post title, so it could be like:
Code: <title><?php nm_post_title() or get_page_clean_title(); ?> - <?php get_site_name(); ?> </title>
Hey Carlos,
Maybe I just don't get the function of it. What I want is when the newsmanager shows up on a page, don't show the page-title on the page, only the post-title. But on pages not using the pagemanager, the page title is shown. I thought that was the function of the new template-tag (and the plugin).
Now I see both (with dates). If I rule that out (<!-- -->), the titles of pages wouldn't show up on pages without newsmanager.
Thanks for the support.
Edit1:
btw, I changed the code to this: <title><?php nm_post_title() or get_page_clean_title(); ?> - <?php get_site_name(); ?> </title> , but no change when I see the pages.
Edit2:
Hey Carlos, maybe you can add links to all the working plugins for newsmanager on both the plugins page and first post in this topic.
|