Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Menu ordering
Hi Getsimplers :-),

i'm new to this CMS and after playing a while with release 2.x i take a look
to 3.x... i really like this little toy ;-), but i'm my opinion the way the page's
priorities are handled is a bit awkward.
For example, if i have:

index, priority -
page_1, priority 2
page_1_1, priority 3 [parent: page_1]
page_2, priority 4
[...]

shouldn't be better to have something like:

index, priority -
page_1, priority 1
page_1_1, priority 1 [parent: page_1]
page_2, priority 2
[...]

where page_1_1 priority is handled as "1.1" because it's a child
node.
What i'm saying is: isn't be better to have a hierarchical structure
over a simple priority way that mixed the menu ordering (especially
when you want a multilevel navigation)?
Another thing: what if i've got more than 20 items to order (e.g. 30
galleries, each one that has its own page)?
I know that I18n plugin tries to do something like that, but i think it
relies on the present priority numbering and not in a pure hierarchical
way.
Am i worng?

Cheers and great work guys ;-),
ff0000.it
ff0000.it Wrote:I know that I18n plugin tries to do something like that, but i think it
relies on the present priority numbering and not in a pure hierarchical
way.
Am i worng?

The I18N plugin uses the priority (which you don't see any more with its improved GUI) to order the pages with the same parent (and it doesn't matter, if these priorities are 1, 2, 3 or 4, 20, 35) - as soon as you save they will be 1, 2, 3, ... per parent.

It's newest version even allows you to order the pages with drag-and-drop.

And of course it provides the functions for - near perfect ;-) - multi-level naviation.
I18N, I18N Search, I18N Gallery, I18N Special Pages - essential plugins for multi-language sites.
Hi mvlcek,

isn't relying on a "global" priority numbering too bad? What i mean is shouldn't be a better