Posts: 149
Threads: 8
Joined: Dec 2011
2011-12-03, 23:32:18
(This post was last modified: 2011-12-03, 23:33:15 by xLn.)
Hello people,
Just about finished with my first Get Simple website. So far it has been a total joy working with this CMS. I just love the fact that so many plugins are already available. And even more so, the quality of the one's I've used so far (take a bow Martin Vlcek!). My company will definitely keep using Get Simple on future projects and making some donations in the future.
We will also work hard on extending the user base and hope to be of help in the forum once we get more and more acquainted with the system.
However, in the meantime I have a question with regards to adding Youtube video's. What is the best way of going about this?
Since pasting the code directly into the page doesn't work, I've installed Dynpages, created a component containing the code for the video and included that into the page. Obviously works but a bit difficult to explain to the customer.
Is there an easier way?
Posts: 2,928
Threads: 195
Joined: Feb 2011
I am just experimenting with some of the CKEditor-plugins and as there is a Youtube-Plugin, I would suggest to test that, you will find a button in the toolbar and on click the youtube video URL will be asked and the video will be integrated in the post
see here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/ckeditoryoutube/
and tell us if it works!
Cheers, Connie
Posts: 2,094
Threads: 54
Joined: Jan 2011
Draxeiro Wrote:Since pasting the code directly into the page doesn't work, I've installed Dynpages, created a component containing the code for the video and included that into the page. Obviously works but a bit difficult to explain to the customer.
Is there an easier way?
You could use one component named youtube with parameters, e.g.
Code: <?php global $args; ?>
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/<?php echo $args[0]; ?>" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
and tell the customer just to include the component call with the youtube ID on the page, e.g.:
Code: {% youtube pJe_1WL5p_Q %}
Posts: 2,928
Threads: 195
Joined: Feb 2011
As I find and experienced, that users have problems with adding these tags to the editor (how to remember the syntax etc.), I tested the youtube-plugin for the editor, corrected some problems and documented the installation for Ckeditor-Youtube-Plugin-Integration
with that, the user has to click on the icon in the toolbar and add the Code of the Youtube-Video in the dialogue
for example "V2rVYvylvZc" to see this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2rVYvylv...ture=g-all
I added the ZIP to this post, read the installation text inside the zip ;=)
Cheers Connie
Posts: 149
Threads: 8
Joined: Dec 2011
@connie:
will look into it. Would be the easiest way to be able to include a movie that way.
I previously dabbled around with another CMS called RuubikCMS (quite similar to Get Simple in a lot of respects), that included a button in the WYSIWYG editor (Tiny MCE I think) to add movies. Worked well. Wouldn't that be an option here too perhaps? (ie. using Tiny MCE as opposed to CKEditor).
@mvleck:
Would for sure make it a relatively easy operation. Will give it a try and let you know.
By the way, that CMS I just mentioned used a similar component system, with the difference that one could opt for either a code component (like here) or a wysiwyg one. Would be marvelous if Get Simple also gets that in the future.
In the meantime I understand that there is a way to in a way create a wysiwyg component using the I18n plugin? But truth be told I do not understand how that would work...
Posts: 2,928
Threads: 195
Joined: Feb 2011
see my last posting, with that plugin you will have a youtube icon and in my opinion that would be the easiest for the user
Posts: 149
Threads: 8
Joined: Dec 2011
True, that would be the easiest by far.
I tested Mvlcek solution in the meantime by the way: works perfectly!
As I am a bit pressed for time I will try yours tomorrow, ok?
One thing though, in your instructions you mention to unzip the contents into the plugin folder of CKEditor and that a 'youtube' folder will appear then. Tried it but I think you forgot to include the folder in the zip.
Posts: 1,928
Threads: 88
Joined: Apr 2010
Connie, your plugin is very nice, thank you.
Posts: 2,928
Threads: 195
Joined: Feb 2011
I am sorry, I did it in a hurry. So the ZIP did not contain the correct folder-structure
This is the corrected zip.
Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Dec 2011
I have two GetSimple websites and and one of them has two YouTube videos with the simple embed code provided by YouTube and pasted in the Source tab of the editor. One thing that may be confusing is that the embed code link is kind of hidden. You must open first the Share link and then the Embed link appears and you can choose the size as you wish. The pages with the videos are: http://zk.ellada-mas.com/ and http://zk.ellada-mas.com/the-story-of-kemal/
Good luck, Get simple is the best.
Draxeiro Wrote:Hello people,
Just about finished with my first Get Simple website. So far it has been a total joy working with this CMS. I just love the fact that so many plugins are already available. And even more so, the quality of the one's I've used so far (take a bow Martin Vlcek!). My company will definitely keep using Get Simple on future projects and making some donations in the future.
We will also work hard on extending the user base and hope to be of help in the forum once we get more and more acquainted with the system.
However, in the meantime I have a question with regards to adding Youtube video's. What is the best way of going about this?
Since pasting the code directly into the page doesn't work, I've installed Dynpages, created a component containing the code for the video and included that into the page. Obviously works but a bit difficult to explain to the customer.
Is there an easier way?
Posts: 149
Threads: 8
Joined: Dec 2011
Connie Wrote:I am sorry, I did it in a hurry. So the ZIP did not contain the correct folder-structure
This is the corrected zip.
I am probably doing something wrong (since it seems to work for Oleg) but I can't get your solution to work.
Basically goes wrong while editing the gsconfig file: my toolbar totally disappears after putting in points 2 and 3... (literally copying and pasting your points 2 and 3 from the txt).
At the same time the instructions are a bit confusing too: 'Extract the youtube folder to admin\template\js\ckeditor\plugins\'
However when I unpack the zip it contains multiple folders and files, including one called 'youtube'.
Following your instructions would indicate to only unzip the contents of 'youtube'. Which I would hazard a guess is not the case.
So I assume you meant: extract the contents of the zip to admin\template\js\ckeditor\plugins\youtube
However that 'youtube' folder isn't included (not in the structure I think you mean), so I created one and unzipped into that.
Connie, can you tell me where I went left instead of right?
Posts: 2,928
Threads: 195
Joined: Feb 2011
Draxeiro,
I updated the ZIP because the directory structure was wrong.
So, download the latest ZIP and follow the instructions.
when you unzip, you will get one textfile and one folder "youtube", this folder has to be uploaded to
admin\template\js\ckeditor\plugins\
so you will find the folder admin\template\js\ckeditor\plugins\youtube
then you have to do the edits of the gsconfig.php
if you run into trouble, you can copy the gseditoroptions-part and the gseditor-toolbar-part from your gsconfig.php here in the posting
I will edit that, test it and "post it back"
Cheers, Connie
Posts: 149
Threads: 8
Joined: Dec 2011
Hi Connie,
The zip mystery was solved in any case, I had downloaded your new version put apparently something went wrong while unpacking the structure was wrong as a result.
Deleted the folder, re-downloaded and unpacked again. Now the structure was correct (though I did already drop the files in the correct spot anyway).
With regards to gsconfig.php
Here you go:
Code: define('GSEDITORTOOL',"['Source','-','Cut','Copy','Paste','PasteText','PasteFromWord','-','Undo','Redo','Find','Replace','-','SelectAll','RemoveFormat'],
'/',
['Bold','Italic','Underline','Strike','-','Subscript','Superscript','-','JustifyLeft','JustifyCenter','JustifyRight','JustifyFull'],
['TextColor','BGColor','-','Rule','PageBreak'],['NumberedList','BulletedList','-','Outdent','Indent'],
'/',
['Blockquote','-','Smiley'],['Link','Unlink','Anchor'],
['Image','Flash','video','fileicon','Table','HorizontalRule','SpecialChar'],['youtube'],
'/',
['Styles','Format','Font','FontSize'],['ShowBlocks']
");
and
Code: define('GSEDITOROPTIONS', "extraPlugins:'youtube',forceSimpleAmpersand:true,skin: 'v2'
");
Result is no toolbar hahaha
Posts: 2,928
Threads: 195
Joined: Feb 2011
well, there is no toolbar at all when one of the options is not available
my options were just an example, including the skin "v2", if you do not have this skin in /admin/templates/js/ckeditor/skins, then you will jump into this error
Code: define('GSEDITOROPTIONS', "extraPlugins:'youtube'
");
will help you out
the good thing is always, that you must not log out when testing a new gsconfig.php, you just empty the cache and reload
and voila: the youtube-icon is there!
Posts: 149
Threads: 8
Joined: Dec 2011
That did indeed do the trick!
Now it works, though that toolbar does look messy will all those greyed out unused icons hahaha
But that is easily rectified
Thanks for your help!
So now we have 2 options to relatively easily include Youtube movies on page: This CKEditor extension and the component solution my mvleck.
Good stuff!
Posts: 2,928
Threads: 195
Joined: Feb 2011
the problem with the getsimple toolbar is, that not all icons are nice
I would suggest to use another toolbar, it's described in the WIKI:
http://get-simple.info/wiki/how_to:edito...n_toolbars
Cheers, Connie
PS: I am glad you sorted it out!
Posts: 44
Threads: 3
Joined: Oct 2011
There Is also a way to use this plugin to create a pop-up window, or cooperate with "I18N Gallery"
I'm looking for a way to place a youtube film and immediately once you click that is placed in a beautiful window just as the "prettyPhoto" script. This is supported but unfortunately not yet by "I18N Gallery"
|